Four Phillies Get MVP Votes

Joey Votto deservedly won the NL MVP with 31 first-place votes and 443 points.

Albert Pujols finished second with one first-place vote and 279 points. The rest of the top five included: Carlos Gonzalez (240), Adrian Gonzalez (197) and Troy Tulowitzki (132).

The Phillies had four players receive MVP votes:

  • Roy Halladay finished sixth with 130 points.
  • Jayson Werth finished eighth with 52 points.
  • Ryan Howard finished 10th with 50 points.
  • Carlos Ruiz finished 17th with 12 points.

Twenty-seven players received votes. The Phillies were the only team with four players receiving votes.


The Dodgers have hired Davey Lopes as their first base coach.


Halladay and Felix Hernandez won the Cy Young last week, which made the Phillies, Mariners and Cardinals the only three teams to win the four major postseason awards in the last 10 years.

The Phillies won the MVP in 2006 (Ryan Howard) and 2007 (Jimmy Rollins), Cy Young in 2010 (Halladay), Rookie of the Year in 2005 (Howard) and Manager of the Year in 2001 (Larry Bowa). The Cardinals won the MVP in 2005, 2008 and 2009 (Albert Pujols), Cy Young in 2005 (Chris Carpenter), Rookie of the Year in 2001 (Pujols) and Manager of the Year in 2002 (Tony La Russa). The Mariners won the MVP in 2001 (Ichiro Suzuki), Cy Young in 2010 (Hernandez), Rookie of the Year in 2001 (Suzuki) and and Manager of the Year in 2001 (Lou Piniella).


I’ve got a new Facebook page, where I’ll post stories, blogs, thoughts, etc. Check it out here.


Follow me on Twitter. My Phillies book “The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly” is available online, and at Delaware Valley bookstores!


Deserving choice. I thought they’d give it to Albert again.

We should find the people who voted for Halladay (and any other pitcher) and revoke their voting privileges.
Pitchers have their own MVP award, it’s called the Cy Young Award. It says “Most Valuable Pitcher” on the trophy. Voting for a pitcher for MVP violates the idea of the award. It’s the whole reason they created the Cy Young Award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: